Traveling to Oakland started incredibly early for me this morning. I woke up at 3:00am, said goodbye to my pets, and was out the door by 3:30am. My mom and I drove to Detroit for me to catch my 7:45am flight. You may be asking yourself why we left at 3:30 when it only takes 2 hours to get to Detroit? I asked myself the same question considering check-in took less than 5 minutes. My mom is always super early to everything, and she did drive me to the airport and then put in a full day's work, so I guess me sitting in the gate for a couple hours didn't hurt anything.
After a 4 hour flight to Vegas, I then waited for another couple hours to board my final flight hour and a half flight to Oakland. The bad thing about time changes is that the airport restaurants do not serve lunch on the schedule that my body wants lunch food. I am not a fan of breakfast food and as a result I ate a $7 salted pretzel that was about 24 hours past its prime. The struggles.
My flight to Oakland went smoothly after departing a little late. I actually landed at the same time as the other two Miami guys, Saurabh and Jason, which was very convenient for riding to our hotel.
Once at the hotel we checked in and reassembled our bicycles. Much to my dismay my quickr-release that holds my front wheel on did not make it in the box when the bike store packed it. Looks like I will be buying a new one tomorrow!
The rest of the day was filled with Policies and Procedures review and leadership activities that really helped me to get to know the guys on my route.
The night was capped off by looking for a convenience store to buy odds and ends that we had all forgotten. We ended up in downtown Oakland, and coming from Oxford and Defiance this was a bit of a culture shock. I came out of the store with M&Ms, a water, and toothpaste and we all made it safely back to our hotel before curfew.
24 hours after I woke up to leave on this journey, I am finally going to bed.
Love and Honor,
Beau



Leave a Reply.