Picture
My gear for the summer.
After almost 11 months of anticipation since I registered for the Journey of Hope, it is finally here!

In April, 2004 I raised about $50, $40 of which probably came from my parents, to participate in the Defiance Area Society for the Handicap's DASH-a-thon. I rode my bike an incredible distance of 5 miles at the Independence Dam State Park. Nine years later I have cycled hundreds of miles preparing for my almost 4,000 mile journey and have raised $5,875 and counting for people with disabilities. While the distance and the monetary amount have grown, the intent behind both trips is the same, to help and serve people with disabilities.

I was reminded of my first cycling "trip" yesterday when I rode to my Pi Kapp little brother Jackson's house, about 25 miles away. I passed by the park on my way there and could not help but laugh at how far that trip seemed to my 11 year old self. It made me smile that even at a young age I had done something to help those with disabilities. None of this would have ever been possible without my awesome parents who have been supportive of my goals and aspirations my entire life and have sacrificed a lot to help me achieve my dreams. I will never be able to thank them enough but I hope that I make them proud!

I will be flying out of Detroit tomorrow morning, and by 1:30 I will be in Oakland/San Fransisco to embark on the summer of a lifetime. As you can see from the picture above, I am not taking much with me this summer! My bike, a backpack for my laptop, and a duffel bag with an air mattress, sleeping bag, camping pillow and clothing. Unfortunately, as soon as JOH is over I am heading straight from DC to Oxford for RA training. My parents have the arduous task of moving my stuff to school before my arrival. The majority of which has stayed packed since the end of the school year; I have been living off of high school clothing for the past 3 weeks.

Once I am in San Fransisco, we have about 4 days of orientation to get us ready for our ride. My parents and sister are flying out on Friday and will be seeing me off on Sunday. They're staying a few extra days to vacation in SF and see some of the major landmarks of the city.

Once again, thank you to everyone who has made this trip a reality. Check back regularly for posts, I will try to keep it updated with lots of photos, my new camera arrived yesterday! Please also pray for all three Journey of Hope teams as we travel through over 30 states collectively this summer to help those with disabilities.

Love & Honor,
Beau
Sondra Samples
6/4/2013 09:13:45 pm

God's speed and good journey, Beau.

Reply



Leave a Reply.