Where do I even begin?
I registered for the Journey of Hope on July 12, 2012, and finally kickoff arrived today. Departing across the Golden Gate Bridge was quite the experience and I am so thankful that my parents, sister, chapter sweetheart Megan & alumni and JOH '07 cyclist Scott could all send us off.
We woke up bright and early this morning at 5:15 and were on the road shortly thereafter. While the conditions were windy and rainy in San Fransisco, not too far north the weather got absolutely gorgeous.
The mountains were beautiful, riding up them was challenging yet rewarding when we were able to look down them from the top.
Who knows how many bottles of water I drank today; the short answer is a lot.
Most days we mix up the guys in our pace-line (we ride in group of three on the road) and today I rode with my chapter brothers Saurabh and Jason. We started riding together in August and it was only fitting to begin this journey together.
I did get a flat tire today, but that was easily fixed and we were on our way in no time.
We arrived in Napa at about 3:30, showered up in our hotel rooms, and quickly were on our way to our friendship visit. There were so many awesome people with disabilities there. We danced, we ate (a lot), we chatted, and we played volleyball just to name a few things. The smiles that we were able to put on people's faces really warmed my heart and reaffirmed why I decided to take the plunge this summer and do the Journey of Hope.
A small awards ceremony was held for many of the individuals we visited with tonight to recognize them for their outstanding performance in their softball league this year. Everyone received a trophy and from what I gathered, they all completely deserved them for their hard work and dedication.
The man in charge of the visit actually attended Ohio State. He was wearing a Buckeyes sweatshirt at the visit tonight which instantly caught the eyes of us Ohio guys, go Bucks!
Tomorrow is another early morning where we ride into Sacramento.
Please continue to pray for us and keep checking back on my blog to see what we are up to! I don't know that we will always have the most reliable internet connection, but I will do




Leave a Reply.