Today was a doozy. The ninety-six miles from Duchesne to Dinosaur can probably go in the books as most of the guys least favorite rides of the trip. We rode along Highway 40, which is a big trucking route for the oil companies. Many of the drivers were inconsiderate and it made for a stressful day of riding. At about mile 65 my derailleur hanger bent, but luckily we had just left a bike shop a few miles back. I was racked back to the shop and they fixed my bike in no time. I then joined Reggie from Iona and Kyle from Purdue as a sweep, leaving Doug from Northern Illinois and Blake from Texas Christian.

The extra 4 miles that I rode twice made today a century ride for me. After leaving Vernal and Niles behind at mile 65, It was nothing but desert for the rest of the trip. I thought we had left the desert behind, but I was wrong. Eventually there were fewer trucks, but traveling of chip and sealed roads does not make for a comfortable ride.

Once in Dinosaur, just across the Colorado state line, we were treated to dinner at the school by many of the locals. The town only has a population of about 350, but they all have big hearts and love having the team in town.

After dinner we went down to the BedRock and got root beer floats and milkshakes. This has become a tradition for the guys on the trip to find a local ice cream establishment in each town. It is definitely one that I enjoy!

Tomorrow takes us about 90 miles to Craig, the second of our ten days in Colorado.

Thank you for keeping us in your thoughts and prayers!

Love & Honor,

Beau




Leave a Reply.