Our last day off together.
Today we had a nice late wake up time of 7:30am. After eating breakfast with University of Pittsburgh Pi Kapps we headed back to our rooms and I took an hour long nap. Rough life.
For lunch we walked over to CLASS which stands for Community Living and Supports Services. We ate some local Pittsburgh delicacies and interacted with their clients. I sat with two gentlemen that do not have the ability to talk, but with the use of a special mechanism and eye scanners they are able to type out sentences to convey their thoughts. It was a neat way to interact with them. They loved having us at lunch today and I believe not one person left without a smile on their face.
After lunch we headed back to the hotel and swiftly headed to Dave and Andy's, a local ice cream restaurant. Thus we continued our tradition of trying out local ice cream shops. Following ice cream we headed back to the hotel and I took yet another nap. My body is pretty worn down after cycling about 3,500 miles so I am trying to get all of the rest that I can before the home stretch into DC.
For dinner we drove about a half hour to the Woodlands Foundation and ate dinner with their campers and our Build America brothers. I ate with a young lady name Julia who loves being around boys so today was her dream come true with 35 JOH guys and 20 BAM guys in attendance. Following dinner we all headed over to their rec hall and talked to them about perseverance. Many of our guys gave them personal examples of when they have had to persevere on this trip, and also opened it us to questions and stories from the audience. It was great for us to be able to connect our experiences on this trip to experiences that they have had in their lives and it brought us all together as a group.
We then headed back to Pittsburgh and I went with Kyle and Blake to film my scene for our team music video at a local Rite Aid. Stay tuned for that video in the upcoming week.
For my final blog post I am going to be answering and responding to feedback from my blog viewers so if you have any questions just leave them in the forum (under News)below!
Thanks for your continued support this summer!
Love & Honor,
Beau



Leave a Reply.